Orluzurumee Youth Assembly, unassumably the apex socio-cultural youth group for the 12 Local government areas of Imo State, namely; Orlu, Isu, Oru East, Oru West, Ideato South, Ideato North, Nwangele, Nkwerre,Orsu Njaba, Ohaji Egbema and Oguta will on Saturday, July 4, 2020, hold its National election to usher in the 4th substantive executive of the Assembly.

In a release signed by the Chairman of the Electoral Committee, Comrade Kyrian Echerebo and made available to Newsmen in Owerri yesterday, Echerebo said that all are set for the election as his committee has worked round the clock to ensure a free and fair exercise.

According to the release, “in keeping with the Covid-19 Social Distancing policy of the Federal Government, wearing of face masks is mandatory for delegates and candidates”. He further said that anyone who fails to wear his face mask will not be allowed access into the venue.

The release also stated that in order not to congest the venue, the time table has been pasted at the National Secretariat of the Assembly at No 14 Alhaji Tijani street, behind Orlu Stadium for Aspirants and delegates to know when to come for their election. It is said, apart from the candidates’ agents who should be in the hall as long as the election lasts, every other person is advised to stay at the ground floor of the secretariat pending when his or LGA is accredited to cast their votes.

“So far, we have notified stakeholders of Orlu zone about the election, hopeful they will come to observe the election which promises to be credible. Having concluded the preliminary stages of the exercise, we are now at the last stage of the electioneering process which is the election proper”, the release stated.

Among strong contenders for the office of President are; Hon Franklin Ngorforo, a real Estate Mogul and former House of Assembly candidate of SDP for Ideato North; Engr Christian Okolie, immediate Past acting President of Orluzurumee Youth Assembly; Engr Sylvester Anyikwa, a lecturer at the Federal University of Technology (FUTO), Owerri.

The release also stated that in line with the constitution of the Assembly; there shall be an ex-officio member from each of the Federal Constituencies in Orlu zone, amounting to four ex-officios in addition to some former principal officers of the Assembly who will make up the committee of ex-officio.