The uncertainty surrounding who becomes the gubernatorial flag bearer of the Imo State chapter of the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA), for the 2019 election seems to have come to an end as the results of last Saturday October 6, 2018 primary election show that Senator Ifeanyi Godwin Araraume, defeated of 13 others with a total of 583 votes to emerge winner.

According to the result signed by the Chairman of the electoral committee that supervised the election, Sir Chikodi Anara, the Orlu born convener of 1 million march, Prince Daniel Kanu came second with 90 votes, and Hon. Uche Onyeagocha who scored 63 votes came third while Chief Sir Okey Ezeh with 61 votes came fourth with 61 votes.

The available result sheets showed that 13 contestants took part in the party primaries held at Kanu Nwankwo Sports Complex Owerri but was signed by aspirant of six against 13 while other aspirants are either protesting and opposing the results of the elections. Among those protesting the outcome of the election are Chief Ikedi Ohakim also from Isiala Mbano as Araraume,Okey Ezeh, Frank Nneji,Uche Onyegocha,Sam Amadi,Obi Njoku,Stanley Amuchie.

Full details of the available result, are as follows; Ifeanyi Araraume – 583, Chief Okey Ezeh – 061 Chief Frank Nneji – 048, Prince Daniel Kanu – 090, Chief Ike Ibeh – 015, Chief Ikedi Ohakim – 027, Chief Humphery Anumudu – 013 and Chief Stanley Amuchie – 014.

Others in the contest include Hon Uche Onyeagocha – 063, Chief Steve Nwoga – 027, Dr Sam Amadi – 011, Nick Oparandudu – 014 and Barr Ziggy Azike also 014. A total of 980 votes were reported to have been cast at the primary election.

Meanwhile reports reaching our news desk indicate that the former Governor of Imo State, Chief Ikedi Ohakim (Ochinanwata), has picked the ticket to be the flag bearer of Accord Party (AP), for the same 2019 elections, which many think, promises to be a battle of the titans.

A close confidant of the former Governor,yesterday broke the news that his principal, on Saturday 6thOctober 2018, went to receive the principal officers of the party, who were in his house to perfect plans and consolidate measures for the contest ahead.

The source revealed that Ohakim cannot wait endlessly for who becomes APGA flag bearer hence, they decided on the choice of Accord party.