The Caretaker Committee of the Imo state chapter of the Nigeria Union of Journalists (NUJ) has set up three sub-committee with the aim of re-organising, repositioning and reclaiming the union that has been facing some internal turbulence in the past two years in line with the resolution of the union’s congress held at the union’s secretariat on April 15 2021 attended by notable veterans and members of the Elders’ council.

The highest policy making organ of the union resolved to reclaim and reposition the revered and respected professional body and labour organization that has been grossly mismanaged in the in the past few years.

In a release issued on Wednesday, April 21, 2020 and made available to the press, by the Secretary, Austin Okoro, the Caretaker committee has so far, set up three sub committee, including the Press Centre Management Committee, the IIJ Relocation Committee and the Assets Recovery Committee. The composition of the sub committees are as follows:

Press center management committee

1. Chris Ogbonna

2. Augustin Agwulonu

3. Chdiebere Iwuoha

4. Chigozie Uzosike

5. Ijeoma Ohiri

Asset Recovery Committee

1. Anselem Anokwute

2. Stephanie Michael

3. Kelechi Uzoma

4. Kelechi Ugo

5. Bright Eleagu

IIJ Relocation committee

1. Uzosike Chigozie

2. Ruth Ashiegbu

3. Elder Okoroigwe

A release issued yesterday by the secretary of Imo NUJ caretaker committee, Austin Okoro informs journalists that the earlier constituted sub committees and the renovation committee that is yet to be constituted will be inaugurated on Friday, April 23, 2021 at the NUJ secretariat, along Port Harcourt Road at 2:30pm.

The release further stated that “attendance is mandatory for all members as other issues affecting the union, including setting up guidelines for induction of new members with requisite qualifications will be discussed.”

The above mentioned committees should liaise with the Secretary of the Caretaker Committee for terms of reference and other clarifications as the case may be.

“We prefer the committees to always hold their sittings at the secretariat”.