–      Urges Other Federal Lawmakers To Follow Suit

Orluzurumee Youth Assembly OYA, the apex socio-cultural youth organization in Orlu zone, has commended the member, representing Ideato North and Ideato South Federal Constituency of Imo State, Ikenga Imo Ugochinyere for his exceptional performance in the lower chamber, of the National Assembly particularly for championing the bill for the creation of more states.

This was contained in a release jointly signed by Comrade Theddus Emejuru and Comrade Chidozie Anuebu as  National President and Publicity Secretary,respectively sand made available to the press.

The group said, “we are pleased with Hon Ikenga Imo Ugochinyere’s superlative legislative performance and other achievements within a very short time. He has performed creditably as well as articulated the concerns of Orlu people. All these have justified and increased the confidence we have him in.

In as much as we are apolitical and would remain so, it does not stop us from commending excellent performance especially when it is very glaring.

“Orluzurumee Youth Assembly as a major stakeholder in the proposed state, will do all we can to support and encourage the state creation agenda that will further fast track political, social and economic development of the South east geopolitical zone.

OYA also commended Senator Osita Izunaso for his efforts in this regard,adding that  there is no way such project will succeed without he imput of the Senator and other National Assembly members from Orlu Zone and areas merging to form the new State.

Recall, that, Hon Ikenga Imo Ugochinyere alongside 15 other members of the Federal House of Representatives on Thursday, May, 22, 2024, introduced a bill which seeks to alter the 1999 constitution of the federal Republic of Nigeria, as amended, for the creation of additional state in the South east geopolitical zone, to be known as Orlu State. This, they said, will fill the gap in the number of states in other regions.

“A draft of the bill listed  the following as the 28 LGA that will make up the new state, namely Orlu, Orsu, Oru West, Oru East, Ideato North, Ideato South, Njaba, Nkwerre, Nwangele, Isu, Oguta, Ohaji Egbema, Onuimo, Ihiala, Uga, Uli, Akokwa, Ozubulu, Arondizuogu, Umuchu, Umunze, New Ideato North, Umuaka, Nwabosi West, Nwabosi East, Owerre Nkworji, Alaoma, Ihiala and Owerriebiri and Umuowa. According to the bill, Ideato, Ihiala and Orlu are to become the senatorial zones”.