The Orluzurumee Orluzurumee Youth Assembly, the apex socio-cultural organization of Orlu people last weekend inaugurated an eleven man caretaker committee, pending the election and swearing in of a new substantive executive committee as provided by the constitution of the assembly.

Inaugurating the caretaker committee at Imo NUJ press center located along Port Harcourt Road,Owerri,the chairman of Board of trustees, Comrade Precious Nwadike reminded the new committee that Orluzurumee youth assembly as an umbrella of all youth organizations in Orlu is saddled with the responsibility of uniting orlu people, maintaining mutual co-existence and ensuring development of the zone.

He used the occasion to charge the new committee to help fight incessant acts of insecurity now prevalent in the zone by assisting  to stem the tide of insecurity and un-necessary waste of human lives in the zone that have  been witnessed in the recent past.

Among those inaugurated to run the affairs of the youth assembly include Dr Tobenna Ogbonna- President, Asoluka Chimuanya- Secretary while other members included Engr Ibeh Anthony, Genevive Ike, Egbobi Richard Osuji, Uratuchukwu Festus Uchenna Offer, Anuebu  Chidozie and Promise Uzoma Avalon.

In his acceptance/inaugural speech, the new president,Ogbonna thanked  the BOT and stakeholders for finding them worthy to serve the assembly and promised that with the co-operation and assistance of members and the security agencies they will help to  ensure that sanity and peace return to the area.

He appealed to community Leaders, politicians especially the past governors and  women groups to assist the  youth assembly in its quest to ensure  that peace returns to the area and made a passionate plea to the incumbent governor, Sen Hope Uzodinma and  police  authorities  to ensure that many innocent youths currently being held by the police regain their freedom.

He promised to unite the assembly and make it an agent of unity, peace and progress in Orlu zone.

In his speech, one of the pioneer members of OYA, Nze Alex Agu while appreciating the new executive members urged them to embrace agricultural as a source of food sufficiency in the area and a means of raising fund  for the assembly and scholarship programme for the youths. He made a donation of one hectare of land to kick start the programme with a promise to be of assistance in other programmes of the assembly.

The climax of the occasion was the official handover to the new leadership, performed by the Immidiate past National President, Engr Sly Anyikwa who was assisted by his Financial Secretary, Comrade Pascal Chibueze.

Other BOT members present at the occasion were; Rt Hon Gozie Nwagba, Comrade Ihekuna Paschal, Hon Frank Ngorforo, Eng Chirstain Okolie and Comrade Collins Opuruzor.