The Owerri Zone apex socio-cultural organization, Olu Owerri has reelected Chief Martin Opara as her President General for the next three years. 

Opara who is the immediate past Director General, Imo State Orientation Agency was returned unopposed after his sole challenger, Barr. Livinus Eke stepped down for him before the election. 

Others elected alongside the youthful President General include: Dr. Charles Ugwuegbulam as Vice President; Barr Sylvester Nwogu as National Secretary as well as Hon. Chinasa Nwaete as Assistant Secretary. 

Others are Hon. Mrs Amarachi Ogbonna as National Woman Leader, Engr. Samuel Nwokeocha as National Youth Leader, Ndudi Opara (Ass. Youth Leader), Barr Chief Madukaji Canice and Barr Kelechi Ahamba as Legal Advisers. 

Also elected into the new executive council of Olu Owerri are Mr. Ogechi Agbaoso (Organizing Secretary), Ekenze Chibuzo (Ass. Organizing Secretary), Dr. Antony Nkwocha (Financial Secretary) David Opara (Treasurer), Peter Ihejirika (Ass. Pub Sec.), Nokey Ebikam and Candidus Achonwa as Ex Officio members.

In his acceptance speech, the President General elect, Chief Opara assured the entire people of Owerri zone of a more aggressive and focused leadership. He proclaimed “no retreat, no surrender” to the Owerri Project, which indicates their determination and resolve to produce a governor of Imo State of Owerri extraction.